Mynoris

Forum Writing Games

I'd like to see more of these, but I'm not sure where to get ideas from.  So I'm curious how many other people like this sort of thing and would be interested in them.  Also, what sort of writing games have you played in the past?  Which did you enjoy?  Which did you not enjoy?

• Like 1

I'd like that!

I usually don't enjoy the writing games that focus on playing with our characters (what would your character do, stuff like that) - I'm a plot-driven writer, this kind of games simply is not for me. Others will enjoy those, though, so don't hesitate to start one of these 🙂

Of the games I enjoyed a lot, the predictive text title game comes to my mind (we could play that one using title generators instead of predictive text on phones), and the 2 truths, 1 lie game we played in the past.

From the 4theWords forum with little editing, so these aren't my games or wording.

Word Association:

I think everyone probably knows this game. x) But in case you don't: you post the first word that pops into your mind from the word the previous person has posted.

Example:
A: rough
B: sandpaper
😄 wood

Let us start with the word

ditch

First Impressions - A Name Game

A few years ago there was a NaNoWriMo thread where writers could leave a character's name and the next person along would respond with their first impressions of that character based solely on that name. The responder would then leave a new name for others to respond to, and so on... It was a one of my favoruite threads so I brought it back to the NaNo forums last year and now I'm brining it here.

There are two steps to this game:

1) Write a response to the post above yours by talking about your first impression of the name they posted.