Hello, everyone! After a couple of days of lurking, I've decided to introduce myself finally. :) I'm not very good at coming up with stuff to say about myself, so I'll just use the helpful template.

Basics

Name/Penname:  Sam

State/country: Russia

Education: I dropped out of college after a year because of a family situation. After that, my education has been all over the place: lots of online and offline courses on lots of different subjects. 

Hobbies and Favorites

What are your hobbies? 

Writing, reading, learning new languages, tabletop roleplaying games, going on road trips with friends whenever time permits, cooking, horseback riding, watching figure skating, occasionally drawing.

What is/are your favorite book(s) and authors? 

The list of my favorite books changes monthly, because I keep reading new books and adding them to that list. I read too much. :D Listing favorite authors would probably be easier, so here goes, in no particular order:

• Seanan McGuire
  • Robin Hobb
  • Mark Lawrence
  • Stephen King
  • RoAnna Sylver
  • Sharon Shinn
  • Megan Whalen Turner
  • Michael J. Sullivan
  • N.K. Jemisin
  • Scott Lynch

What is/are your favorite movie(s) and TV show(s)? 

I don't watch a lot of movies, but the two that spring to mind immediately are The Princess Bride (a childhood favorite) and Only Lovers Left Alive. As for TV shows, I do watch a lot of them. My current top-5 probably looks like this:

• Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Jessica Jones
  • Stranger Things
  • Babylon 5
  • Dollhouse

Writing

How long have you been writing? 

Since I learned how to write. Before that, I was making up stories in my head and sometimes asking adults to write them down.

What was the first story you wrote that you remember? (Is it finished, and has anyone read it?)