roadmagician

Beginning writing again

Some context: I've been writing since I was five years old. I finally finished a rough draft right to the end last year. 

However, this year I've found it really difficult to write. I feel discouraged with my writing and my self as a writer. When I was in a bad place, I destroyed all my old manuscripts, save one. (Better the WIPs than me, I suppose.) This month marks the longest I've ever not written or at least thought about writing. Usually I'd have something bubbling away in the back of my mind, but now... nothing. It feels like I've lost the ability to imagine. I can't remember how to write. I don't know what I love to do anymore or what I want to read or how to have fun.

Now that I'm starting on antidepressants (about damn time), I was wondering if anyone else had been in a similar space and got out of it? Any tips for easing back into writing again? The thought of tackling a whole novel again is daunting. I need to find some way to recover my love of writing.

I wish I had better advice for you but honestly I'm in a really similar spot. I usually have several plot lines of self-indulgent stories I tell myself but its like my imagination is far away, its hard to picture my characters and setting. And I haven't touched any of my crafts in WEEKS. My creativity well is really, really dry. I've been watching my mental health, I don't THINK I'm depressed, but I'm certainly not 100% the way I was this time last year, where I had my highest word count ever. I'm trying a different, non-hormonal medication starting next week, so I'll see if that shakes me up.