Convictedweirdo

Let's get weird...

Well, not too weird. Let's dabble with just enough weirdness to not get strange looks on a bus, but just weird enough to strange looks everywhere else.

CRAP ABOUT ME:

Anywho, I don't really have a pen-name yet, so it's just convictedweirdo for now. It's an embarrassing legacy name from a hotmail email created almost two decades ago, but who's counting? Oh god not me, or am I?

I'm from Australia, and most of the things you hear about there are true. I've been an avid writer since I was eleven, when Jurassic Park from Michael Creighton got me interested in reading. I never read fantasy because I (wrongly) thought it was lame and stupid until someone gave me a copy of Magician by Raymond E Feist and begged me to read. It was a major turning point in my life, and I've loved everything fantasy related ever since. 

My first stories, written on the noisiest electric typewriter in existence, were about mutated dinosaurs/dragon hybrids and magical rifts into other worlds.

Ever since, I've loved writing, and still hope to this day that I can someday actually complete something.

CRAP I LIKE:

My main source of inspiration from fiction is probably the Malazan Book of the Fallen, but I also love the Riftwar Saga, Kingkiller Chronicles, and sci-fi works by Arthur C Clarke and Peter Hamilton. Steven King is also a guilty pleasure.

TV inspirations would probably be shows like Stargate SG1 (huge Stargate nerd), Game of Thrones (except the last two seasons when they enabled cheat mode), and Altered Carbon.

Music to get me going varies wildly. On the lighter end of the spectrum is artists like Elliott Smith and Live, and on the heavier end, it's various types of rock/metal like Opeth, Parkway Drive, Rishloo, Amon Amarth and Tool.

CRAP I DO:

My day job has me moving forklifts around, but I spend most of my time writing, world-building, and dabbling in game development.

CRAP I'M WRITING: